menu The National Baptist Convention, USA, Inc.

Oratorical Contest

What is the Oratorical Contest?

The Oratorical Contest provides young people with an opportunity to develop and receive recognition for their public speaking skills.  Contestants are judged based on a set of criteria that measure their demonstration of intellectual thinking and positive expression in an original written and oral presentation of the annual theme.  College scholarships are awarded to the contestants with the highest scores.  The Oratorical Contest is held annually during the National Baptist Congress of Christian Education Annual Session.

Interested in being a participant? Download the Guidelines below.

The 2024 Oratorical Guidelines and Application

Click Here to download the Oratorical Content Information or click this link

2022 Oratorical Contest Winners

1st Place – Makyla Tate of Tennessee will receive $5,000

2nd Place –  Tamaine Hill of Illinois will receive $3,000

3rd Place – Brittany Wright of Michigan will receive $2,000

2019 Oratorical Contest Winners

1st Place – Rachel Henderson, Georgia
2nd Place – Danielle Jenkins, New Jersey
3rd Place – Joseph Matthews, Michigan

2018 Oratorical Contest Winners

Ms. Rakayla Brooks, 1st Place

Ms. Lenecia Turner, 2nd Place

2016 Oratorical Contest: “Jesus Christ Keeps Using My Life to Inspire My Generation to Follow Him” Luke 9:23

1st place Ms. Billie Mwangi of NJ; 2nd place Ms, Madisyn Elam of NC; and 3rd place Ms. Nile Ruth Pierre of CA

History of NBC Oratorical Winners:  2003 to 2016


2019 Rachel Henderson – Georgia
2018 Rakayla Brooks – Missouri
2017  India Nichole Martin – Ohio
2016 Billie Mwangi – New Jersey
2015 Chante’ Dobson – Tennessee – Click here to download the report
2014 Yunique’Murphy- Oklahoma – Click here to download the report
2013 Joei M. Robertson- Utah – Click here to download the report
2012 BerThaddaeus M. P. Bailey- Oklahoma – Click here to download the report
2011 Nadia Agbozo – New Jersey
2010 Sabrina Elizabeth Stansberry – Louisiana
2009 Michael Evans -Michigan
2008 Synthia Pullum – Texas
2007 Sha’ Vana Daniels – Utah
2006 Brandi Fulton – Louisiana
2005 TeRance Darnell Golden – Missouri
2004 Tasia Stone – Florida
2003 Crystal Horne – California / Bruce Hughes – Illinois Oratorical Winner (Tie)

Bro. BerThaddaeus Bailey, MPA, National Baptist Congress Oratorical Contest Coordinator